1 Thessalonians

December 5, 2007 at 5:58 pm (Bible, Christ and the Bible, Faith, God, Intercession, Jesus, Life)

Did you ever notice that Paul’s starts this letter by thanking God for the attributes of those around him?

1 Thessalonians 1:2-3
We always thank God for all of you, mentioning you in our prayers, we continually remember before our God and Father your work produced by faith, your labor prompted by love, and you endurance inspired by hope in our Lord Jesus Christ.

It seems like many times I desire the gifts of those around me for myself. God let me sing like so and so, or God let me play like that person, God give me this skill or that attribute, blah blah blah. I get so caught up in things that are beautiful to me, assuming that they are beautiful to the Lord. I sometimes forget, and other times never even consider that I am beautiful to the Lord just as I am. I love him, I long for him, I desire his presence, and strive to live in his image and that is beautiful to him. By God gave me my gifts, that’s why I don’t sing like so and so, or play like that other guy. I sing, and I dance, and I play, and I be a geek just the way that my Father wishes I would.

Thank you Lord for giving us singers who sing, musicians who play, dancers who dance. Thank you Lord for placing me in the presence of so and so, and that other guy to bless me every day, and thank you for making me, me and allowing to be a blessing to others.

Leave a Reply

