Intercession

December 10, 2007 at 4:07 pm (Bible, Christ and the Bible, Faith, God, Intercession, Jesus, Life)

There was a night, very early in my walk with Christ where I woke with thee most panic driven fear I have ever felt in my life. I woke up breathing hard with panic. I am not sure if my eyes were open or closed, but there was utter blackness. No light from the window, or the clock, or under the door, just black. I was not able to move, I felt a suffocating weight over my entire body, as if covered in a blanket filled with lead. I wanted to cry out, and wake up my wife, just to hear a human voice, but I was unable to physically will my lips to move.   I felt the presence of something dark. I was unable to see, but could sense a shape in the room, actually sitting in my dresser. It was all black, with no detail at all. The best description I have is the silhouette of a gargoyle.

I honestly wanted to defend myself and my family from what ever this was, I wanted  a gun, a sward, anything in my hand that could do damage, yet I was unable to move.

I did the only think I could do, I cried out in my mind “GOD help me”. I don’t remember the exact words to the prayer, but I talked to God for a long time that night, I was given a name for the demon that was there, and I prayed against it by name. Physically it may have been 2 seconds or 2 hours, I don’t really know. I do know it seems like there were thousands of words spoken that night, in the silence and darkness. A war perhaps, a battle for sure, but as quickly as it started it was over. I woke up the next morning and remember that this happened, but the details are all gone. I couldn’t even tell you the name of the demon.

That was a Sunday morning, and in speaking to a couple from church they revealed to me that they had a demonic visitation the night before. You see the attack had not been on my family, but on theirs. I was woken up in the middle of the night, not to defend my family, but theirs. I was called to be an intercessor.

The reason I write this today, is because this happened again last night, and I feel called to share it here today. Maybe it will make sense to someone who reads this.

A few things I can share about being an intercessor are these.

1. We don’t always know who we are praying for

2. We don’t always know what we are pray for

3. We don’t always pray because we want something to happen now, but rather because now is the time to pray.

4. We don’t always see the results of our prayers. We just need to know that they were not unheard.

So if you feel called to intercede on another behalf please, please be faithful.

 Romans 8:25-2725But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.  26In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. 27And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will.

Leave a Reply

