Who Will Take a Stand

January 21, 2008 at 3:00 pm (Abortion, Bible, Christ and the Bible, Faith, God, Intercession, Jesus, Life, Men and Women, Prayer, Watchman)

I’ll not be silent on the abortion issue here.

Pastor Steve’s message this weekend was powerful, and I may hit more points then what I have so far, so be ready.

 

In Steve’s message he mentioned Psalm 94:16

Who will rise up for me against the wicked?
Who will take a stand for me against evildoers?
 

Also our has a place in our heart for the Dr. Seuss book Horton Hears a Who since Matt Lockett shared with us about Horton and his willingness to listen. If you haven’t read it in a while pick the book up and read it with the voiceless children who killed through abortion every day in mind. You can visit Matt’s blog here http://mlockett.blogspot.com/

Not to advertise to much, but you can also find out about the “Horton Hear a Who” movie here www.hortonmovie.com

 

Anyway, after all of that, when Steve said “Who will take a stand for me” the words “Horton and Me” popped into my head.

Horton and Me

I like that so much that I am petitioning to have Tee-Shirts made.

 The funny thing is when hearing / reading that in church over the weekend I heard it as God saying “Who will rise up” and “Who will stand”. Today I hopped onto www.biblegateway.com and did a search for “stand with me” because I can’t remember a verse number for the life of me. I found this one, but then read verse 17 as well.  Psalm 64:16-17Who will rise up for me against the wicked?Who will take a stand for me against evildoers? Unless the LORD had given me help, I would soon have dwelt in the silence of death.  It touches my heart. In the context of this message the psalmist could be speaking as an abortion survivor. Does the Lord have Horton ears that he hears the cry of the smallest of these? I don’t think so, I think God gave Horton Godly ears to hear with and Horton, by faith, listened and heard what no one else could.  God bless you todayAnd if the watchman calls, don’t ignore it.  

Leave a Reply

