Which end of the pool will you jump into?

January 28, 2008 at 4:59 pm (Bible, Christ and the Bible, Faith, God, Jesus, Life)

I love my wife

One of the reasons for that is she keeps my mind sharp.

Even though I don’t always engage in a conversation they way I maybe should, there are many times where her words and thoughts that she shares with me cause me to spend a lot of time thinking. Also she tells me that most of the time I miss the point of what she is telling me, so we will see how I do this time.

So thank you Dear, and I love you

 

This weekend in Pastor Steve’s message he said something about how time is our enemy. Our Days are numbered here on earth and the hard part to grasp is that not one of us knows the number of our days. In reality I don’t know if I will get the chance to take my next breath or if something unexpected will happen. Only god knows when our last breath will be.

 

With that thought in mind we go back to an earlier conversation my lovely wife and I had. Here is the general question that sums up that discussion. Why do we introduce new Christians to the shallow end of the pool first?

And for that matter why do we find older Christians still wading around in the shallow end as well?

Here is my thought… If my time is now, and I am going to meet God before the sun sets today, I don’t want to get there and have God say “Why did you only get wet up to your knees”? Now I know if you just push someone into the deep end of the pool and walk away they are going to drown, that’s why we are Christians have to get wet with them. If they are out of breath help them to the side of the pool, but don’t let them give up. I know this is all a metaphor, but I hope your getting the picture here.

Part of our walk should be an like an adopt a Christian program… Maybe I am writing this only for myself, but it seems worth sharing.

We should be taking under our wing a Christian newer to the faith then ourselves.

I don’t be just a Sunday check up, but a phone call, book exchange, coffee drinking, fishing trip type of adoption. Share not only your faith with words, but share your faith by sharing your walk.

 

Does that make sense? It does in my head, but I am not sure that I have articulated it well.

Please share any thoughts, insights or comments you have with the comments link.

I would really like to create a discussion on this topic.

5 Comments

  1. Steve said,

    Jeremy – super question – why do we introduce new Christians to the shallow end of the pool first? Wow – let’s take them deep. People have criticized me before, “Hickey’s gone off the deep end.” That’s really a compliment isn’t it? I’m tired of shallow. I vote we quickly baptize our new converts into the intense prayer meetings and fervent worship times and solid food teaching and giving lavishly and second-mile serving because they will think its normal Christian expression which it should be. As is, people stay shallow and think the deep end’rs are a bit over the top.

  2. completefaith said,

    I love what I leanred at IHOP last year.

    “Our ceiling should be their floor”

  3. Megan said,

    Wow! That’s good! All this “deep” stuff has actually been Christianity 101 for so many of those who have gone before us. Jesus himself said we would see and “do even greater things” than what Jesus had done (John 14:12). Why do we expect anything less?! I want the deep things of God to be normal and expected in my life!

  4. midnightcry said,

    Yes, Yes, Yes!!! Nothing is going to be different if we don’t do something different. So…let’s do something different than just baby step new believers into the kingdom, otherwise they thing that baby steps is normal and right.

    Your comment about adoption made me think of the difference between a “Big Brother” program and total adoption into a family. We can just take each other to events, or we can live it out together…nitty gritty, warts and all.

  5. Clifford said,

    Tell who is willing to pay the price to walk and live in the deep end. There is much that has to be given up for someone to live at that level.

Leave a Reply

