Isaiah 30:20 – Hit me like a brick

January 31, 2008 at 5:58 pm (Bible, Christ and the Bible, Faith, God, Isaiah, Jesus, Life, Men and Women, Watchman)

I did a search on biblegateway the other day for the word teacher. I was looking for another verse, but as I read through the list Isaiah 30:20 hit me like a brick.

Isaiah 30:20

20 Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, your teachers will be hidden no more; with your own eyes you will see them.

Wow, the bread if adversity, the water of affliction – given by the Lord?

Bread and water are sustenance to us. Is Isaiah says that Adversity and affliction are sustenance also?

Also the context of the first portion of that verse says the “Lord gives”. To me the feeling here is like the Lord Gives a gift.

The Lord gives a gift of bread and water.

The Lord gives a gift of adversity and affliction.

I know it sounds a little masochistic, but look at the next statement “Your teachers will be hidden no more”. Thank you Jesus

I know almost as soon as I came to know the Lord teachers were revealed to me. Pastor Steve, Kristen, Pastor Dennis, Kathy, Pastor Jim, Joseph Thompson. These are all people who, with in days and weeks of coming to know the lord became very clear as teachers to me. I still sit at the feet of each and every one of them as a student in knowing Christ. There are MANY more names on that list, but these are the primary people whom I choose to model different aspects of my life after.

So God blesses us with adversity and affliction, at the same time opens our eyes to teachers, maybe people who have past experience, and knowledge of the same adversity, and then the bible says with our own eyes we will see them. We will know who our teachers are.

I had heard Pastor Steve a few times prior to knowing the Lord and really had no feelings one way or another for him. He was just another pastor. God touched my heart in a significant way and the following Sunday Pastor Steve became unhidden.

Now don’t get me wrong, I still have the blessings listed in this verse, but I also have teachers who will walk with me through them and show me a way to increase Gods presence in my life at the same time.

I can’t end this with out also sharing verse 21.

Sure it’s comforting to the student, but reading it as a potential teacher to others, this is a second mile instruction. A deep end of the pool kind of thought.

Isaiah 30:21

21

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

Who can a teachers voice be in the ears of a student when they are walking the path of their faith? I know you know what I am going to say…

The teacher has to be on the path with them.

God Bless

3 Comments

  1. midnightcry said,

    Hey Jeremy,

    Your observations about affliction and adversity being given by the LORD is exactly what I was thinking about when I blogged this week about the LORD hemming me in on every side. (I just needed another verse to follow up what I was thinking.) Just the thought of the poking of the thorns in a hedge keeping me in the center of where he wants me to be rattled me a bit. But I am discovering the peace in the storm lies where his hand can cover me. That knowledge is too wonderful for me.

    It is an honor to share the path with you!

  2. Marcee said,

    Adversities and troubles in life are the norm, and they may not be fun to go through, but they make us stronger and more equipped to do the work God is calling us to do. Last year was the most difficult and blessed year I have ever experienced. Wow! If I didn’t have God and His love in my life, I likely would have ended up in a mental institution. I thank God for putting me through the wine press. He squeezed out the bad stuff, and I emerged new and totally transformed. So, thank God for the hard times in life. They are necessary to make us who we need to be in Christ. Praise God for those, who come alongside of us to encourage, pray, and support us in the good and bad times.

    God bless you!

  3. Teresa said,

    Jeremy, Great post! I and my family would have never found our ‘teachers’ if it hadn’t been for adversity and affliction! Steve, Kristen, Dennis and our CATG family have been a true GODSEND and we never would have found you if it weren’t for my illness. I shudder to think what our lives would be like now if I hadn’t got sick, hadn’t been failed by every major support system I had, including, job, medicine, my old church, people I thought were friends. We probably would have remained in our old, dead church. Living our ‘religious’ lives, thinking we were serving God, but never truly KNOWING HIM. So Yes! Praise God for adversity and affliction! I continue to “PRAISE HIM IN THE STORM” but consider it a very small price to pay for the privilage of learning about and serving Him here and now, and the JOY awaiting my WHOLE FAMILY in eternity. Adversity and affliction SAVED US ALL!

Leave a Reply

