A Prayerful Lifestyle

March 17, 2008 at 6:33 pm (Bible, Christ and the Bible, David, Faith, God, House of Prayer, Intercession, Jesus, Life, life lessons, Prayer)

So from Pastor Steve’s message this weekend I am feeling inclined to create a post on living a prayerful lifestyle.

I have really been kind of stuck on this since Saturday night.

Right now I am using the words “Prayerful Lifestyle” and a prayer prompter. Each time it goes through my mind I will spend at least a little time in prayer.

 

I sat down from lunch this afternoon and did a quick search on www.biblegateway.com for the word “Pray” In the book of Genesis alone the word Pray is mentioned in one form or another 8 times, and 365 times in the whole bible, at lease in the NIV. I think it’s funny that the number of times the word pray is in the bible coincides with the number of days in our year.

 

But, the whole point of this post today is that the words “Prayerful Lifestyle” aren’t adequate. As I read through the different occurrences I have the over whelming that we are supposed to live in prayer, and fit life in around the edges.

 

I don’t know if that’s the right description so if anyone has any input please feel free to share. I hope to dig into this more in the next few days.  

4 Comments

  1. midnightcry said,

    Jeremy,

    You said:

    “I have the over whelming that we are supposed to live in prayer, and fit life in around the edges.”

    This is brilliant. I think you may have given me my life’s motto. With your permission, I am going to use this phrase everywhere. – KH

  2. completefaith said,

    Rock on sister…
    You know you are welcome to use that, but thanks for asking.

  3. Brenda said,

    24/7 ….. sigh…… “one thing I ask…”

  4. completefaith said,

    Brenda, don’t know what changed but I feel like we should be so engrossed in prayer on an individual level that when we take a step it becomes a Prayer Movment.

    Right now I say things like I will prayerfully consider that, but I want to be able to say that I will through that idea into the constant flow of prayer coming forth and see where it washes up.

    This sounds like heady stuff and there is a long way to go before we get there, but I feel like this is a vision of what lies at the end of the road.

    24/7 indeed…
    On a side note have you ever considered the word “Indeed” Think about it, what does that word really say?

Leave a Reply

