Matthew 7:13-14

May 21, 2008 at 2:58 pm (Bible, Christ and the Bible, Faith, God, Jesus, Life, Prayer)

 

When I was a kid living on the farm I remember crawling up onto an old wooden fence and doing the tight rope walk on the top board from one fence post to the next. I also remember that somewhere in the middle that old board would start to wobble back and forth and I would end up falling or jumping to the ground. Once or twice the board would be so old that it would break under my weight, and I would be left with no where to stand.

 

In the years since I have often felt like I was back on top of that old wooden fence, performing a balancing act between friends, family, coworkers, cars, hunting, fishing, drugs and alcohol to name just a few. Many, many times I found myself reaching too far in the direction of one of these things and all of the sudden finding myself laying face down in the dirt wondering what happened. The funning things are most of these things are very common “every day” parts of life.  

 

Matthew 7:13-14 says

“Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.

 

 

Since asking Jesus to come into my life I have done my best to stay on the narrow patch. I am human and do wonder off the patch from time to time, but as a Christian I am always trying to find my way back onto it. Now here is my point with this whole story. Even though the path is narrow, sometimes uncomfortably narrow but it is solid ground, and never so narrow that we can not firmly plant our feet on the path and keep moving forward.

 

I spent many years walking on the “Wide Road” and spent most of those days feeling like I was going to fall off the face of the earth.

On the narrow road I can honestly say I have never felt out of balance, or as if I was on unstable ground.

 

Thank you Lord for building the narrow patch on the rock.

Leave a Reply

