Todd Bentley – I am such a glutton for punishment…

June 16, 2008 at 8:14 pm (Bible, Christ and the Bible, Faith, God, House of Prayer, Intercession, Jesus, Life, Prayer)

So I have been following the Florida Outpouring for a while now. I don’t watch everyday, and I have not been there yet. I have also read some of his writings, and listened to some of his teachings prior to the outpouring.

I will say I do believe in most of what Todd teaches. I will also say that he is a man and capable of mistakes. Any questions a person has on his, or anyone else’s teachings should be confirmed or discredited by studying the word of God.

Now to the point… I jumped out to google today and did a search for Todd Bentley and was scanning through some of the hits and I read of the negative feedback to see what all the hype is about. I was amazed at how willing some of these folks are to cut down a child of God with no biblical reference what so ever. They are simply out there ranting against something they are not fully informed on. Reports of Todd kicking a lady in the face, yet the testimony says that boot never touched her, she went out under the spirit before he could make contact. I promise had leather actually met flesh there would have been headlines all over the country, but as it seems a spiritual encounter the press has no interest.

I n Genesis 22 we hear the story of Abraham and Isaac. I don’t hear anyone casting blame on Abraham for his willingness to sacrifice Isaac in the mountain… Do you think anyone else heard the voice when God told Abraham what he wanted done?

Hebrews 13:8 says “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever”. I believe God still moves in the world today, and it is not hard for me to believe the God of Abraham and Isaac would command his faithful to do something that the rest of the world might question.

I find it a good idea in my life to concentrate on worshiping God and studying the Word, not visa versa.

Leave a Reply

