Live Love

July 2, 2008 at 1:11 pm (Bible, Christ and the Bible, Faith, God, Jesus, Life)

Revelation 12:10-12

Then I heard a loud voice in heaven say:
“Now have come the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God,
and the authority of his Christ.
For the accuser of our brothers,
who accuses them before our God day and night,
has been hurled down.
They overcame him
by the blood of the Lamb
and by the word of their testimony;
they did not love their lives so much
as to shrink from death.
Therefore rejoice, you heavens
and you who dwell in them!
But woe to the earth and the sea,
because the devil has gone down to you!
He is filled with fury,
because he knows that his time is short.”

After reading this passage this morning I find the words lingering in my mind…

“They did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death”

Often we live with the mind set that death is the end of life. That when our body stops functioning we stop existing. As Christians we study the word and preach everlasting life, yet, at least in my life, I have a hard time conceiving what heaven and hell are really all about. Thus the conception of life after death is a little shady for me. It’s not that I don’t believe in life after death, but rather everything after the point where my heart stops beating and my lungs no longer function is a little gray. It’s the point where everything I think I know ends, and revelations begin.

That’s makes death a hard thing not to fear, but the word of God tells us that we are not to store up worldly treasures, and that is exactly what life is. Once this physical shell stops functioning we are no longer a part of this world, and that worldly treasure is gone, forever.

I guess if I could sum this up in just a few words I would say “don’t love life so much that you are afraid to live”

Or for a twist on words “Live love so that you are not afraid of life”.

God Bless.

Leave a Reply

