Old Warrior

August 25, 2008 at 6:01 pm (Fiction)

I get up before the sun, strap on my armor, belt my weapon to my side, pick up my shield and walk out to muster, standing in ranks, in the predawn light waiting for the days assignment. Knowing full well that I may not see my bunk again.

My heart beats a steady cadence as I hear the rough shout from a raw throat “FALL IN”. There is no fear, no anticipation and no expectations. I have been there a thousand times; my eyes see only flesh and bone, not man. My nose smells only mud, not life’s blood and my ears hear only clatter, not life’s last effort to cling to the body.

I am a warrior and will do what needs to be done.

My mind no longer returns to the thought of seeing my bunk again in the coming night, though it is all I have to call home. I have been too close, too many times to be distracted by such thoughts.

I am God’s warrior and will do what needs to be done.

Though I am in no rush, I know I will receive payment in full once my mortal remains are laid to rest, and I enter the kingdom of God. They day I stand in his presence bow down and kiss his precious feet, I will receive my true inheritance. 

Leave a Reply

