Personal Update – Life Experience

April 17, 2009 at 2:20 pm (Uncategorized)

Ok, so I want to share a little of what’s been going on over the last week.

The story actually goes back a long ways, but started to come to fruition about a month ago, or so and we closed the deal this week. So here it is.

Over a year ago I started playing guitar. I set a goal at that time to own a Les Paul – It was the guitar I wanted. I started with a dirt cheap Ibanez SE, traded for a Epi Special II (looks like an LP with a bolt on neck), and about a month ago I was able to buy an Epi, Les Paul Standard. I know it’s not the end all of Les Pauls, but it’s my first and I do love it.

But, this baby didn’t come without sacrifice. First I traded in the special II (Not a Sacrifice), Shelled out somewhere around $500 cash (Sacrifice), and had to commit to give up cable for 1 year.

Now let me explain something here. The only time I can remember not having cable TV in my life was when I was young, back in the days of no remote, and playing pong…

Anyway, my loving wife dropped the axe on Tuesday, 4/14/09. The only thing is we don’t have any type of antenna on our TV. So, all of a sudden we went from 600 channels to ZERO channels. We did rent a movie last night, but have not spent any other time watching TV this week.

It’s been good, I have spent more time learning a backing track for Wonderful Tonight this week, and it’s really starting to sound good. I have spent some time reading fiction, which I have not done in a long time. Zander and I had a nerf gun war last night, was also great fun… There have been a few boring times, but all in all it’s been a good week.

I do need to go pick up at least one antenna to that we can get our local news stations for weather updates and what not.

Thus far I have learned that I was not able to actually, completely step away from the TV until it was not an option. It does have a freeing effect by doing this. I don’t really want the antenna hookup, but understand the need to have some access to the world for family safety and what not. If your thinking about it, I say go for it. Set a time frame, and cut the cord.

Leave a Reply

