Weekend Pain, and Adventure

August 23, 2010 at 5:30 pm (Uncategorized)

So, still no bike riding for me, but am recovering from an unplanned physical event this weekend.

 Oh, by the way we hiked Sunday Gultch.

If you’ve been there, please share you story.

 

My family and I went out to the Black Hills this weekend for a couple of nights of R&R. We got up at 4:30am on Friday and loaded up the kids and hit the road by 5. It was perfect.

 

We drove and stopped to go potty, drove and stopped to feed the baby, and drove and stopped some more. But, we did make it to our camp by noon or so. Kicked back for a while then headed into Hill City for a visit to the local food-mart. Headed back into the hills, eat and talked the rest of the night away. Oh and spent an hour or so standing in an ice cold mountain stream scooping up pans full if mud and rocks for the kids to try and pan some gold. Great start to the weekend.

 

Saturday I was up with the sun, looking for some wildlife only to find a herd of cattle standing in the meadow. Went on to make some wicked good omelets on the flat top grill then 6 of us piled into the car and drove on over to Custer State Park for a Hike. Yeah, we were about to embark on a mild 4ish mile walk through the hills….HAHAHAHA.

 

Keep in mind, I am Fat, just hit 40, and haven’t hiked more than a couple miles at a time ever in my life. The first 25 minutes of this hike were almost a vertical decent into the pits of hell… Ok, maybe not hell, but cause it was amazing to see, every step of the way, the next 20 minutes were spend in a more mild decent. Gorgeous, amazing loved every moment of it, and then we started to move away from the creek we had been following, and ran into a couple who said we were at the halfway point. This is where I my doubts started to become a reality. Roughly 2 hours and 20 minutes of uphill climb. The air was no longer cooled by the steam, or the shade of the trees. Some parts were mild, and others were a bit tougher. At some point I ran out of water, and vaguely remember thoughts running through my head like “What would happen if I just lay down and ask someone to call the chopper to airlift me out of here”. I really questioned if I would be able to make it out of there. My primary driving factors to keep going were these.

 

     

  1. All kinds of other people do it.
  2.  

     

  3. How far can I push myself?
  4.  

     

  5. My son was with me, and I didn’t want to teach him to be a quitter.
  6.  

 

I was able to push on and see it all the way through to the end, none the worse for wear. Some of the pains that would haunt me for the next 48 hours or so, chaffing from it being hot, and me being fat, Very sore knee from over exertion, headache from dehydration, and generally sore muscles all over, especially my quads.

 

 

There is nothing in that list that I can’t either overcome, or live with. Less fat will fix the first issue. The knee is the reason I want to do things like that. I have let it limit me for over 20 years. I am done with that now. The dehydration scared me a little bit, but I will use it as a learning experience, and the sire muscles don’t really bother me too much, that just tells me I worked them.

 

Today my quads and chest are still sore. I am searching for east river hiking trails and already dreaming of my next visit to the hills.

 

Leave a Reply

